The 1860 Club

OUAC strives to provide facilities, coaching and competition opportunities for everyone from complete beginners to international competitors, across all disciplines. The diversity and scale of OUAC’s activities require significant ongoing financial support from external sources.

With the systemic shift in UK athletics from volunteer based to more professional, OUAC is struggling to cover new costs arising from coaching and more club members competing at higher levels. As a result and in order to build upon recent successes and continue this upward trajectory, OUAC has created a new supporters' society: The 1860 Club.




This supporters club, based on our year of foundation, will provide a regular and dependable funding stream to support our vision for the future, enabling us to plan ahead with certainty and confidence. On top of this, it will allow the club to adhere to our core principle that athletics should be affordable for all.

1860 Logo

Anyone can become a Member of the 1860 Club by donating £18.60 per quarter, while alumni aged under 25 can join for just £18.60 per annum. Those who give £1,860 or more per annum will become Patrons of the 1860 Club.

In recognition, all members and patrons will:

  • receive an exclusive pin badge (pictured)
  • have their names listed on the OUAC website and in each year’s Varsity Athletics programme
  • be invited to an annual drinks reception held in Oxford

1860 Club Patrons

We are extremely grateful to our 1860 Club Patrons who are a driving force behind OUAC’s continued success.


Name Matriculation Year College
Nick Nops 1968 Christ Church


1860 Club Members

We are indebted to our 1860 Club Members who provide invaluable support to OUAC.


Name Matriculation Year College
William Robbins 1953


William Cummings

1957 Christ Church

Michael Hogan

1961 Trinity

Christopher (Kit) Brownlees

1967 Keble

Paul Temporal


St Edmund Hall

Andrew Popham 1974 Exeter
John Crosse 1975 Magdalen
Peter Clarkson 1976 Queen's
Craig Masback 1977 Trinity
Stuart Veale 1977 New
Antony Harris 1986 Pembroke
Alex Rahaman 1992 Jesus
T. Peter R. Pound 1997 Wadham
Caspar Eliot 2008 New
Helen Hanstock 2008 Magdalen
Daniel Hooker 2010 Christ Church
Hugh Baker 2011 Hertford
Adam McBraida 2011 Jesus
Louis Gardner 2012

St Catherine’s

Hugo Fleming 2014 Corpus Christi
Edward Rees 2014 New
Jack Paget 2015 St Peter's
Christina Nick 2013 Pembroke

Margaret McCutcheon Fabe



For more information about The 1860 Club and how to join please follow the link below:

Join The 1860 Club